He's Not My President?

Thoreau: "Government is Best Which Governs Least"

Judge Sotomayor — The Best Conservatives Can Hope For

sotomayor redWhen President Obama announced Judge Sonia Sotomayor as his Supreme Court nominee, I wrote a blog post arguing that President Obama saw her as his judicial female equivalent.  At the end of the post, I asked the question of whether or not President Obama was correct in his assumption.  Having watched much of Judge Sonia Sotomayor’s confirmation hearing (but not all), I believe that President Obama was probably wrong in his assumption.

I may be naive, but I think it is important to remember that Judge Sotomayor has been under oath during her entire confirmation hearing.  She is a sitting judge on the 2nd District Court of Appeals.  I think it is incredibly ignorant to think that she wouldn’t take that oath extremely seriously and as a civil society, which I hope we still are, we ought to give her deference and believe her testimony.  I find her thoughtful, measured, intelligent (but not brilliant), down to earth and forthcoming.

I’m not sure what my fellow conservatives expect from an Obama nominated candidate.  President Obama possesses radical judicial views, so conservatives certainly are not going to get a pick that will please them.  However, can you really hope for a better pick from this President than Judge Sotomayor?  I think not, and I think we should be grateful that our President is so arrogant and narcissistic that he thought Sotomayor is his equivalent in judicial thought and practice.  Her record indicates that she comes no where close to holding his radical views, and I believe Judge Sotomayor is the absolute best conservatives could have hoped for as a Supreme Court nominee from our radical President.

I know that many of you might argue that without the constraints of a higher court and with a lifetime appointment to the final arbitrator of Constitutional matters that Judge Sotomayor will no longer be constrained and will now practice judicial activism on the Supreme Court.  I think you are wrong for this reason.  I have found that in her testimony and based on her record that she seems to exhibit character and integrity two critical traits of which our President possesses neither.  I do not believe Judge Sotomayor is the judicial equivalent of President Obama.  As much as conservatives were disappointed with the results of George Herbert Walker Bush’s appointment of Justice Souter, liberals and in particular their supreme leader President Obama will be very disappointed with the results of Justice Sotomayor.  One year from now, I will follow up with a post on how Justice Sotomayor has ruled, and I think my fellow conservatives will be surprised with the results for Judge Sotomayor is truly the best we could have hoped for in a nomination to the Supreme Court by our current radical leftist President, Barack Obama.

