He's Not My President?

Thoreau: "Government is Best Which Governs Least"

Nov. 4th — A Referendum on American Intelligence or Indictment of Ignorance

Was November 4, 2008 a referendum on American intelligence or an indictment of American ignorance.  In other words was today an affirmation of our intelligence or an affirmation of our ignorance.  At this juncture we cannot tell, but time passes, and we will find out.  From my perspective, I lean toward ignorance rather than intellect, but I will let time pass before casting the final vote.  It seems quite impossible to me that apathy has gotten so bad, that the independent spirit has fallen so far to equivocate a Barack Obama victory to anything less than an indictment on our collective intellect.  For those of you with hope, for those of you who wish to see the change you believe that you will see, let us all see which path we walk over the next four years.

For those who are interested in hearing the intellectual reasons for why I oppose Barack Obama’s Presidency they are as follows:

  • Inexperience — As I researched Barack Obama, I found no substantial legislation that he has proposed, supported or passed that qualifies him for the highest office of the land.  I found no previous positions that he successfully held that had prepared him for the U.S. Presidency.  When we look at his record in Illinois, we find nothing that shows that he has improved the lives of those in his Districts while a State Senator nor those in his state during his brief time working on their behalf in the U.S. Senate.
  • Divisiveness — Senator Obama has presented to the American people in his candidacy someone who will bring us together rather than divide us.  But the best example that we know of publicly regarding divisiveness versus unity is his church.  Trinity United Church of Christ, Chicago, IL is a dividing religion, not a healing and unifying one.  I have no idea what it is like to be an African American in this country, and I suspect to some degree churches that only open their doors to the African American community should certainly exist.  What I dispute is that these churches exist in unifying African Americans.  Trinity United Church of Christ under its former Reverend consistently preached divisiveness between the African American and white communities.  As a result, I question how Barack Obama could sit in that church for twenty years.  If he is truly a unifier, I just don’t see how Reverend Wright could be acceptable to him, let alone a spiritual leader and like “family.”
  • Naivete — Barack Obama is young, and I am concerned regarding his naivete regarding many parts of the world.  Only time will tell how this affects us.  I will await the time to pass to pronounce the verdict in this area and simply leave it as a concern.
  • Liberalism — Barack Obama has campaigned as a moderate even conservative in some circles, but his record in the Illinois State Senate and U.S. Senate shows a much more liberal individual.  I must admit that I am a registered Independent who is very conservative on fiscal matters, very conservative on government matters (meaning the less or least amount of government we have the better).  In my humble opinion, we have not for a very long time elected someone with such liberal leanings.  In the past those to the far left have not been very successful for the American people.  We will see if Barack Obama rules as the moderate he portrayed on the stump or rules as the liberal he has shown in his acts.  Time of course will tell.
  • The U.S. Constitution — Barack Obama believes our Constitution is a “living” document to be shaped and understood under present day circumstances rather than a contract that should be adhered to and can only change through Amendment.  This was the most import point for me to choose the alternative candidate.

For me, any of these points would be enough for me to lean to the alternative candidate.  For me, all of these points in total should make any American pause and in most cases reject such a candidate.  I welcome those intellectual comments that can help me to see the side of Barack Obama that you see.  I will not print any vitriol here.  I will not publish hateful comments or comments lacking substance.  For those who wish to continue this discourse in an intellectual light, I welcome your comments.

Tonight in his acceptance speech Barack Obama stated that for those whom didn’t vote for him he would be our President too and would listen to us.  Well, this blog is about holding Barack Obama accountable for his words.  This blog was started to investigate his substance versus his rhetoric.  That continues to be my mission.  Today I do not consider him my President.  I’ll chart his progress and mine in this endeavor.

My final thought today is that although I believe our choice today an indictment of our ignorance, I will say it was an inspiring one for emotions.  I acknowledge the history of this day.  I never thought this election was about race, and I never thought Americans would have any problem electing an African American President.  Congratulations President-elect Obama for a truly historic day.  Now make sure your actions match your rhetoric.  You will be held accountable.

Written by KJ Kaufman

November 4, 2008 at 10:50 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. May I offer a third alternative? I would argue that if it isn’t an affirmation of our ignorance, then it is an affirmation of America’s brainwashing that has taken place inside the public school classrooms which Bill Ayers and company have worked so hard to reform. Children are taught WHAT to think, not HOW to think, nor are they given an absolute moral foundation from which to reason even if they could think.

    This is why we homeschool. It is a growing movement and the product speaks for itself. I hope that other thoughtful Americans will consider education alternatives and remove their children from these pathetic government “schools.”

    K

    November 5, 2008 at 10:48 pm


Comments are closed.

